1997/111 forward
©tefan Moyses

Catalogue Number:
Stamp Design:
Stamp Engraving:
Date of Issue:
Print Technology:
Print Run:

Rudolf Cigánik
Rudolf Cigánik
January 16, 1997
Postal Stationery Printing House, Prague
Rotary-recess printing combined with recess printing
FDC Design:  Rudolf Cigánik
FDC Engraving:  Rudolf Cigánik
Cancellation Design:  Rudolf Cigánik
FDC Printing:  Postal Stationery Printing House, Prague, Czech Republic
FDC Print Technology:  Recess printing from flat plates
FDC Print Run:  10 000

Bishop ©tefan Moyses (October 24, 1797, Veselé, district Trnava - July 5, 1869, ®iar nad Hronom), one of the founders and the first chairman of "Matica Slovenská", official principal, teacher, official, a worker in culture, an important member of the slovak nation-renascence intelligens in Pest and Association of Language Lover and Slovak Literature.

He graduated the theology studies in Trnava. From 1830 to 1847 he was a professor of the Royal Academy in Zagreb, from 1847 to 1850 he was a zagreb canon. During his activity in Croatia he was one of the leading personalities of the Illyrian movement with Gaj and Drazkovic. In 1842 he was a member of the Illyrian Association, rang among croations journalistic founder. From 1847 to 1848 he was a deputy of the Hungarian Monarchy parliament in Bratislava, a member of the first croatian regional government. In l851 he was a bishop in Banská Bystrica and lived in ®iar nad Hronom.

He deserved well of the development of slovak education, he unfolded a campaign for the foundation of slovak schools. In 1861 he was a head of the slovak delegacy which delivered a Memorandum of the Slovak Nation to the suovereign in Vienna and the proposal of the Privilege for realization of equality of the slovak nation in Hungarian Monarchy. In 1863 he was a head of Matica delegation in Vienna. During the same year he was elected to be a chairmen at the first plenary assembling of the "Matica Slovenská".

He belonged among the most popular personalities of the Slovak national life.

Content 1993-2000
Year 1997
Copyright ©2000 askom